How to prevent a clothing explosion in your bedroom

A few months ago, as I waded through the little puddles of clothing scattered all over my bedroom – some wedged into open drawers, dribbling onto the floor, a freshly folded pile balanced precariously on top of a forgotten laundry basket – I set out to completely rethink and revive my bedroom.

(I get into this mood at least once a year, but the difference is this time I was more determined than ever and decided I was done with simply rearranging the same items around the same four walls of my room – essentially, just moving the mess around – only to have it re-explode a few weeks later. This time I actually set out with a proper clutter-busting mission and managed to get rid of a LOT of items that sat about unused, literally just collecting dust over the years. I’ll talk about the decluttering part next taim, but first – the furniture-pushing)

This is what my bedroom looks like:

mynbedroom2a

And let’s be realistic, I’m a girl and for the longest time I had a love affair with new clothing and when I was a little younger I would buy clothing without much consideration of (1) would I really wear this? (2) would I really wear this often? (3) where am I going to put it?

And this is how my furniture was initially arranged:

mynbedroom3

In addition to the built-in wardrobe by my bedroom door (which had a disorganized mess of generally rarely-worn stuff), I had clothing stored on two sides of my room : A shelf near my bathroom door for my work trousers, jeans, skirts, and general “bottoms” and a chest of drawers for t-shirts, tops, sweaters, and the like in front of my bed.

And this is how it was for a while. And every day, my “getting ready for the world” process involved two things.

mynbedroom4

1 – I would exit the bathroom (after a shower, of course) and head to my dressing table (vanity) and y’know, do all the creams and sprays and general business.

2 – LOOK FOR SOMETHING TO WEAR.

And this second stage involved walking from one side of my bedroom to the other. It was ridiculously inefficient: I would be walking from one wardrobe/shelf/drawer to the next, unsure of what to wear, unsure of where to find things, if I changed my mind it was “too far” to put it back so I just dropped it somewhere convenient.

And so obviously this happened:

mynbedroom5

My bed happened to be (in)conveniently placed right in the middle of this daily clothing pilgrimage, and quickly became victim to the dreaded exploding wardrobe syndrome. Even if I tidied up one weekend, the mess would magically teleport itself back into the same trouble spots the week after.

So something needed to change, and it needed to be drastic.

Step ONE was to take EVERYTHING out of all the wardrobes. Literally everything.

Step TWO was to plan the overall bedroom layout, create a designated clothing zone and minimize the distance between each wardrobe to avoid having to cross and zig-zag across the entire room every day. More distance between wardrobes and having to cross paths with other objects (e.g. my bed) is extremely inefficient and poses a higher risk of “accidentally dropping” things halfway and making a mess.

Step THREE was to flex those muscles and engage in some serious furniture shoving. (Pedantic author’s note: try not to literally push furniture across the floor as it could damage the bottom; if possible get someone to help and lift it up)

Step FOUR was to look at the empty wardrobes and plan the clothing arrangement. It’s best to arrange clothing in an assembly-line order; for a chest of drawers, for instance, your undergarments should be in the top drawers (as you obviously put those on first), and then your inner shirts, tank tops, camisoles in the drawer below, and so on.

Work clothing should be hung, and in my experience it’s best to separate work wear from leisure, weekend wear (so your work blouses in one section, and weekend tops in a separate section – no mixing). Be sure to keep your work trousers and bottoms close to your work blouses – and belts too.

Gym wear should be in a separate section also, I put these into drawers nearer to my baju rumah – t-shirts and pants and shorts etc.

Anyway – the point of this specific post is to talk about step TWOcreate a designated clothing zone.

I achieved that in my bedroom by placing the shelves (that were originally near my bathroom door, for my “bottoms”) across from my build-in wardrobes.

mynbedroom7

This is perfect because my tops and shirts hang in the built-in rails, and the corresponding trousers and bottoms now sit in shelves directly across. The chest of drawers which stores my undergarments, home clothing, t-shirts, pants, shorts and general “foldable” items are close by, just outside my bathroom door.

Noww… After I’ve finished up in the bathroom, I get out and my vanity is directly outside. And all my clothing is localized in the designated “wardrobe” area by my door. It’s been about three months now and so far the clothing explosions happen much less regularly, and if they do start cropping up they’re small, easily fixable messes 😀

mynbedroom6

By having a designated “getting ready” zone, my clothes don’t vomit all over my bed anymore and get in the way when I’m trying to sleep (yes we’ve all had that “move the pile of clothing from the bed onto the floor” situation) and any messes are contained and don’t stray far from where they should be.

(OR you could, y’know, invest a hefty sum into completely renovating your room to include a walk-in-wardrobe. That could work too, haha)

Leave a Reply

